Peeing in the non-profit world

Salary negotiations at the for-profit company were me vs. them.  It was all about getting my due.  This continued even once I worked there.  Whenever they sensed that I was fed up and wanting to job search I received well timed employee awards, promotions, and salary increases.  I never really LOVED the job.  I had concerns that my contributions to the company were increasing profit and ultimately feeding the church that bites me.  Obviously not an issue in the non-profit world as there is no profit. Salary negotiations at the non-profit were very different.  Offer.  Acceptance.  Very win-win.  I mean, I get to do what I am passionate about, and THEY EVEN PAY ME.  This attitude has spilled over into more general aspects of the job.

 

This has led to a problem though.  A problem with my bladder.

 

See, at for-profit company, I liked to go to the bathroom on company time.  There was something oh so satisfying to the, “Yah, they’re paying me to do this” trip to the restroom.  My co-workers and I even chugged water to fit an extra trip in.  We’d request each other’s company on these trips and yah, I know it sounds creepy, but it made the day more fun. I miss these shared WC visits.  I can’t imagine asking my co-workers here to pee with me.

 

Today I had to go for an hour and a half.  But I was the only one in the office.  I was afraid the phone would ring or a visitor would stop by.  I didn’t know if I should lock up.  Should I leave a note?  (Back in a whizz, I planned to write.)  I finally gave in.

 

Sure enough, I missed the only call of the hour.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Peeing in the non-profit world”

  1. David Says:

    I thought that this was so funny, How true it is too.

  2. Keri Says:

    I’ll be insulted if you don’t ask me to pee with you. We can repay EU by buying the stamps you have to lick instead of self adhesive. That would be plenty worth the pee time.
    I still can’t believe you missed the call. That’s hilarious!

  3. Kelly B Says:

    STORY OF MY LIFE!

Leave a Reply

