FOAF

My friend came over this weekend and she brought a friend with her.  This FOAF, or friend of a friend, was someone I knew vaguely and had previously heard sing the National Anthem at an event. Riley is into anything musical so I asked FOAF to sing the National Anthem and she complied (amazing!).  She then jokingly sang the “Soul Food National Anthem.”  And sang part of “Lift Every Voice and Sing”, the Black National Anthem. 

My son was amazed at her voice.  (She is very good)  And he sat still the entire time and just took her in.  If you know the kid, you understand how impressed he was.

FOAF then mentioned that she is often asked to sing the National Anthem at events and she does but that it isn’t a song that speaks to her.

So, wondering what music she enjoys, I asked her, “What do you sing in the shower?”  And she produced the most lovely R&B love song that I have no idea what is or who sings.

Not wanting the singing to end, and not understanding the significance of the shower reference , Riley asked, “What do you sing in the bath tub?”

He was embarrassed and defensive when we all laughed.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “FOAF”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I, myself, prefer classic country music in the shower/baththub….think Patsy Cline, Willie Nelson, Ray Price…My family thinks it hilarious to knock on the door and ask me if I need medical assistance. (Riley, I understand your embarrassment and defensiveness).

  2. Valentino Says:

    the R&B song that “FOAF” sang is a song that she wrote on her own…..just like Riley I would like to hear what is sang in the bathtub…..lol

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Congrats on the job – I too love wearing bandanas – and cute story about Riley – I need to check this more often – I’ve gotten behind.

Leave a Reply

