When A plus B = Z maybe its time for therapy

I was taken back to childhood today and not in a good way at all.  I was taken back to the vulnerability and powerlessness of childhood.  I hope I don’t perpetuate this in my children.

I linked to a Deseret News article at work today and in the corner of the page was a “Utah news” box announcing  Major Oilfield Fire Burning in Uintah County. Oilfield – that’s where my dad works.  Uintah County – that’s where my dad works. The headline could have read “Deadly fire kills all of QweirdUtah’s Family” for that was how I reacted.   

And it was like it was yesterday when my uncle was killed in a oil field accident.  It was like yesterday that I would hug my dad goodbye as he went off to work worried every time that he might be hurt or killed.  It was like yesterday that my dad was brought into the ER – injuring his leg in an oil rig accident.  It was like yesterday that another uncle almost lost an arm in – you guessed it – an oil field accident.   

I totally freaked out.  I called my dad.  Nobody home.  I left a message.  I called Mom’s cell.  Nobody answered.  I called my sister and freaked her out because not only WHAT IF DAD WAS HURT but she also had to contend with WHAT IF HER HUSBAND WAS HURT?  Luckily my mom walked into my sister’s house, informed us all that Dad wasn’t even at the fire, that sister’s husband wasn’t there and that everything is okay. 

It wasn’t logical.  It wasn’t rational.  But it was downright scary. 

I love you Dad.

Tags: ,

One Response to “When A plus B = Z maybe its time for therapy”

  1. Carrie Says:

    What??? A + B = Z…is that the new math they’re always talking about?

Leave a Reply

