A soup-er night

Inspired by the film Ratatouille and in an effort to become the youngest chef ever, my son created his first recipe all by himself.  He even typed it in “Kids Pretending to Spell” also known as Microsoft Word.  Yes he did this all by himself.  And then proceeded to cook the recipe all by himself.  He, however, drew the line at eating the stuff.  I, however, thought it was good, or at least better than I could have done at his age.  

Riley’s resapy             (recipe)

Tmado  soos              (1 can tomato sauce)

Milk                            (1 cup milk)

Broth                          (½ cup chicken broth)

2 wodor                     (1 ½ cup water)

dIst  unyins                (½ cup diced onion)

chopt selry                  (½ cup chopped celery)

gorlic                          (1 clove minced garlic “a little goes a long way”)

catschup                    (2 squirts of ketchup)

 

drekchuns:  cuk than eat              (cook then eat)

 

I know that most kids learn to read.  I know that most parents think it is just the cutest little thing when they do, and I know that most kids spell things wrong and that most parents think it is just the cutest little thing when they do (at least when the child is six.)  And now you have 2 posts in a row of me thinking this is just the cutest thing in the world.  I’ll lay low on the Riley spelling in the weeks to come, but I couldn’t help but post this.  Chalk this post up to something I want to remember about this little guy in 10 years.  After all, I think he is just the cutest little thing.

2 Responses to “A soup-er night”

  1. simpleexistence Says:

    You are a great mom and he IS the cutest little thing in the world! Well, except for my kid of course. 🙂 Seriously, he is adorable! I say, embrace all these cute little things for as long as they exist.

  2. Carrie Says:

    He is the cutest little thing in the world!

Leave a Reply

