Peeing Like a Princess

What a weekend.
Kim and I attended the Utah HRC Gala at Bruce Bastian’s house on Saturday. This guy made a little something called Word Perfect and now he’s the richest person I know. Not that I know him. But maybe I do. I mean, I’ve been to his house. This house mansion is amazing. We got VIP tickets which allowed us to tour the house and have a few drinks on the house. It was a beautiful and amazing event. In fact it was the kind of event that makes me really really want to be rich so I can throw a gala of my own. I’ll attach a few pictures, but first I have to just rave about the bathrooms. When I arrived, I thought it was a little tacky that there were port-a-pottties at the fancy schmantzy event, but then I got to thinking, what exactly is a person supposed to do when they host a gathering for over 800 of their closest friends? But then I got a good look and these potties were classy – running water – fresh flowers – a mirror – mints to freshen up the lots-of-vodka not-very-much cranberry breath. Royal Restrooms they were called and I highly recommend them. No this isn’t a consumer review. No, they aren’t paying me to say this. But when I find a portable pisser that’s good enough for me, I feel the need to share. Maybe Pride can rent them next year.

I’m even wearing a dress.

My friend Vee in the middle of a Kathy Najimy and Joe Solomonese sandwich.  Kathy Najimy was the keynote speaker – one of my new favorite straight people.  And Joe Solomonese is the President of the HRC.  I cornered him with my friend Joni and we chatted about HRC and ENDA and the need for an inclusive ENDA bill.  He seems like a great guy.  I mean, he didn’t go running – screaming – the other way.

It’s midnight, but we can’t seem to bring ourselves to leave the property.  The big classy gates will shut us out for another year and allow us to return only with the $300 entrance fee.  Nobody should have this much money, but since people do, I’m glad Bruce is one of them, and I am glad he’s on our side. 

6 Responses to “Peeing Like a Princess”

  1. Chicory Says:

    you two look really happy.

  2. Eric Says:

    You know, we have one here, too, but he’s still mostly closeted and doesn’t use his money for “our” issues. Verified as the richest person in the state. Most of you, if you ever shop in any one of several large department stores often found in malls, contribute to his fortune.

    He’s also one of our two US Senators (and no, he’s not the campaign finance reform one.) 😉

  3. Keri Says:

    You’re good! I can’t see Manhattan anywhere! 😉
    btw, I still LOVE your new hair!

  4. Kelly B Says:

    i love the pics… i miss my moms.

  5. J Says:

    The fresh flowers alone are enough to make me feel like a princess!

  6. J Says:

    Dang it, I forgot to mention how very modern you hair cut is. I love it and the short bangs add the perfect amount of spice!

Leave a Reply

