How Jesus got my son to clean his room…

There’s an old gospel song called “Washed in the blood of the Lamb.”  Riley and a friend had a play date a few weeks ago and off and on throughout the day she sang the song.  I guess she learned the song at a family reunion and sang it at the talent show for the family reunion.  Only Riley’s friend interpreted the lyrics as being, “washed in the blood of the land” – and her mom (and I love this) hadn’t corrected her.  Since Riley learned the song from her, he’s been singing it that way for weeks now.  The chorus is supposed to go like this:

Are you washed in the blood,
In the soul-cleansing blood of the Lamb?
Are your garments spotless? Are they white as snow?
Are you washed in the blood of the Lamb?

 

Tonight was no exception.  He began by humming and soon was crooning out the chorus.  This has been bothering me for the last few weeks.  So much so that I intended to blog about the song, my son, and his obsession with the song, but finally was motivated by the following conversation.  As he sang, I must have rolled my eyes.  He noticed so he asked:

 

Riley: Mom, why did you roll your eyes?  Don’t you like this song?

Me: Not particularly.

Riley: You should like this song.  It’s a free thinker song.  It’s about peace and the world.

 

Now I knew he didn’t get that from the lyrics so I was a little miffed wondering who was trying to brainwash, I mean, teach my son about Jesus and being washed and saved and whatnot.

 

Me: What makes you think that?

Riley: Just listen to the words mom.  [and he sang]

                        Are you washed in the blood,

                        In the soil-cleansing blood of the land?

                        Are your carports spotless?  Are they white as snow?

                        Are you washed in the blood of the land?

 

Riley:  The song is about the earth and how she’s bleeding and we need to keep the snow white and the dirt clean and protect the land so she doesn’t bleed anymore.

Me:      Gosh.  I didn’t know that’s what the song was about.  What about the carport part? What does that mean?

Riley: [Definitively]  It means you’re supposed to keep your stuff clean.  Your room, your carport.  Everything.  And it means you’re not supposed to litter.

Me:      Wow. 

Riley:    Do you like the song any more now?

Me:      Much more.  I like the message.  You’d better go clean your room now.

Riley:    Okay.

7 Responses to “How Jesus got my son to clean his room…”

  1. Kelly B Says:

    HAHA!

    I love that kid… he is very green!!!

  2. Carrie Says:

    Who’s brainwashing whom here?

  3. kim Says:

    can i get an “AMEN!” for free thinkers!

  4. Kaye Says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!

  5. tonya cinnamon Says:

    oohh now that i like in the revised song 😀
    chuckling.. gotta love the kidlet ^_^

  6. DeeDee Says:

    Religion in any form works best when it is in our own form…way to go Riley!

  7. DeeDee Says:

    PS: I think I need to clean my carport…

Leave a Reply

