spring cleaning, job searching, and worshipping coffee

I’m actually supposed to be applying for a job at this moment, but now that I’m sitting, I just want to….drink coffee, read blogs, and now write.

Ahhhh.

My home feels so good right now.  Friday was my last day of work (Did I mention that I quit my job?) and I have now spent 4 days totally “spring cleaning.”  Everything is dusted, scrubbed, organized, put away – or at least shoved out of sight.  That’s about as good as it gets for me.  I went through kitchen cupboards and actually threw away a couple of food items with expiration dates as old as my son.  (The older son.)  I found a box of falafel purchased at “Bread and Circus.”  I don’t think it even exists any more, but “Bread and Circus” was a spendy little whole-foods-ish store in Amherst, Massachusetts.  Did I mention that we haven’t lived there since 2002?   This box of falafel must have moved with us to Colorado then here to Utah.  Only to be tossed aside.  I hate to waste food.  Even food way past its prime.  I don’t even like falafel.  Why did we buy it?

My week has gone so fast and has been so busy that sometimes I wonder how I ever fit full time employment into my life anyway.  There’s just so much to do.  And those boys are growing so fast.  But this is just a few week job hiatus.  I have to get back to work.  Which is why I have to hurry up and finish this so I can apply for that job…

The stock market sucks.  We’re seriously headed into a recession – we’ve slid a lot but there’s more downhill to this thing.  We ate up our savings on my last bout of being unemployed but all I can think of is –

ahhh.  this feels good.  my house is clean.  the coffee is good.  the boys are beautiful.  the sun is shining.  and I’m not bundled up in response to an overactive air conditioner.

I spent five months trying to fit myself into a job that wasn’t a fit for me.  Life is too short to have a job that you think about as you fall asleep at night.  And you think about the moment you wake up.

I’m thinking I might wait tables again.  Whenever I mention it, Kim starts in on how we barely paid of school loans for me to get my master’s degree.  And, she says that, “you certainly didn’t get a master’s degree so you could wait tables.”  No, I got a master’s degree so I could change the world.  But then I had children.  I got tired.  And I wasn’t sure I wanted to change the world anymore.  Maybe my boys can change it.

This post just took a turn into sounding tired and depressed and I am neither.  So I will again go to how clean my house is.  How hot the coffee is.  How bright the sun is.  How beautiful the boys are.

8 Responses to “spring cleaning, job searching, and worshipping coffee”

  1. Kelly Says:

    yay for a clean house, beautiful boys and yummy coffee…

    you should come and work with me… 🙂 my guys here will give you a run for your money Ruth… BELIEVE IT!!!

    enjoy your hiatus! you will find something grand!

  2. ohchicken Says:

    you could totally write a book about that falafel as metaphor for the things we need to let go of…the things we forgot we even carried.

    (you’re welcome for that nugget.)

    i second kelly’s yays.

    and peace for everything else. we’re all in this together, right?

  3. Future College President Says:

    Enjoy it!! Write, read and breathe. You are changing the world by showing your boys all that is possible. And yes, your master’s degree is being used every day!
    You still have lots of time to change the world. The good news is that the rest of the country is going through their savings right now, so we are all in the same boat. Maybe Wal-Mart needs a greeter??

    Oh, and btw, can you send me my camera? We need to have it for photos of our new dog. We are picking her up (again) on the 1st. More details to come…

  4. Keri Says:

    oh how I miss hearing these random thoughts while i sit here freezing through the overactive airconditioner…
    miss you already. if you ever want to come back and learn me some more :), i’ll be the one that’s worshipping coffee while wishing my house was clean.
    xo.

  5. Sedalb Says:

    We’re seriously headed into a recession? The DJIA just dropped into the 7000. (Finishing the day at 8451). I think we can officially say we are seriously IN a recession…

  6. Carrie Says:

    The boys are beautiful. And Casey is a fantastic interpretive dancer!

  7. tonya cinnamon Says:

    i got my assocites in june 08 and was ngoing for my bachlors.. but now its been put on hold. jobless and trying to find a job that will work with me and my hours with my kidlets and be a great job.. is like asking for a wish to come true..
    which maybe.. but now like you said coffee and kids… m akes the world go round..
    hugs to you!!!!

  8. simpleexistence@wordpress.com Says:

    Sounds wonderful! I wish I were home today on this cool and cozy kind of day, sipping tea and just ‘being’ with my family. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

