A hippopotamus bite

I stripped Casey down last night to give him a bath and was frustrated to notice that he had a partially healing bite mark on the back of his arm.  This bite obviously occurred at daycare.  And I understand that these type of things happen when you get a half dozen kids together in a room, but I also feel strongly that a BITE IS IMPORTANT ENOUGH TO TELL THE PARENTS. 

I should know when another child is eating my son for a mid-afternoon snack. 

Without an incident report to share the facts of the incident, I was left to questioning my 2 year old for the details.

“What happened?”

I was met with a blank stare.

“Did someone bite you?”

“Yes.”

“Who was it?”

I was met with another blank stare.

“Did Caden bite you?”

“Yes.”

Checking for consistency in his statement, I asked again, “Did Carrie bite you?”

“Yes.”

My sister asked, “Did Riley bite you?”

“Yes.”

Thinking we were getting a skewed version of the facts, she asked again, “Did a hippopotamus bite you?”

“Yes.”

“Did Joshua bite you?”

“Yes.”

“Did Grandma bite you?”

He looked at us with disgust.  “No!  Nana no bite children!”

8 Responses to “A hippopotamus bite”

  1. Doug Says:

    i did not do it

    uncle Doug

  2. Doug Says:

    or my hippo

  3. Mikey Says:

    Nor I. I may have let my hippotamus run amuck however. Sorry.

  4. Carrie Says:

    It’s good to know Nana is no longer biting children. It was a rough childhood.

  5. Chicory Says:

    I must confess… I did it. When you weren’t looking. He’s just too scrumptiously cute!

  6. Kelly Says:

    maybe it was a vampire…

    it is October…

  7. Judith Says:

    i admitted this to kim yesterday…
    quesito had a jalapeno cheeto on his arm and as i ate it i accidentally bit too hard 😉

  8. Will Says:

    Mmmm… tasty two-year-olds.

Leave a Reply

