Just another get out the vote blog

I have what feels like a rock in the pit of my stomach.  But I haven’t eaten any rocks lately so I’m left to hypothesize what it might be.  I have decided that it’s this election.  I’m so engulfed in it.  I’m unable to stop consuming every little angle, every sound bite, every blog, and every e-mail forward. 

 

I feel like I personally have so very much at stake tomorrow.  And I have no idea how I will fare.

 

This morning I watched a bit about how “Toot” – Barack Obama’s grandmother just passed away, and the news actually made me cry.  This woman so deserved to live to see the first African American president.  She so deserved to see her grandson elected to the highest office of this land.  And yet, regardless of the outcome tomorrow, she won’t ever have that and it makes me so sad. 

 

As I sat on the couch with tears dripping down my face, my partner clicked off the TV with the remote and announced, “Well I hope she voted early.”

 

And suddenly we were both laughing.  We sat there laughing and crying and wishing and hoping and feeling helpless and empowered at the same time.

 

You do not need to agree with me, vote like me, or even feel the weight of this election sitting so squarely on your shoulders.  But please, if you are eligible, please vote tomorrow.  I’ll be there for Jeff and Judith and Josh and so many others who are not eligible to vote.  And for Casey and Riley.  And I’ll be there for me too.

Tags:

15 Responses to “Just another get out the vote blog”

  1. Kelly Says:

    YAY for voting!!

  2. TGD Says:

    right there with you…

  3. the other sister Says:

    I wouldn’t miss it

  4. Carrie Says:

    I did something last Monday that I had never done before but I will do from now on and that was vote early….no long lines, no pressure to hurry, just the opportunity to change things! (As they say, vote early, vote often)

  5. Carrie Says:

    P.S. to the other sister – Take MOM with you!

  6. DOUG Says:

    i voted for your grandpa Vic

  7. Kelly Says:

    no need for a rock in the pit of your stomach… now just hope…

  8. the other sister Says:

    Obama gets elected president and you don’t even take the time to blog about it! and for all the people that were mean to my son JD because at his Jr High he voted for Obama he says “suck my ass, I’m on the winning team” and to carrie mom did vote (yay mom) and last but not least I agree with Kelly stop focusing on the negative, your glass is half full, the United States is slow to change but we are changing. I know because I witnessed HISTORY in my TV room last night.

  9. Carrie Says:

    To the other sister: Do you really allow your son JD to say “ass”? I’m appalled.

  10. the other sister Says:

    If I can say it and you can say it why can’t he say it? and out of all of the power in my little speech you are giving entirely too much power to the word ass.

  11. Carrie Says:

    The word ass has a lot of power (especially the Brom*** Ass).

  12. the other sister Says:

    P.S.
    Carrie if you want me to leave comments about your comments you’re just going to have to get your own blog, or you might really piss Ruth off.

  13. the other sister Says:

    So does anything that takes up massive amounts of space have power?

  14. the other sister Says:

    Ruth, by the way, I’m only leaving stupid comments and playing with Carrie because you didn’t write a new blog today and I’m bored. Jeez could anything be more important than blogging today? Roo says that you should at least write a story about Halloween and include her totally awesome goth picture.

  15. The one and only J-Kay Says:

    Hey Ruth!
    I’m proud to say I logged over 150 hours with the Alamosa Democratic Headquarters and volunteering at rallies in just under 3 months. It was quite an experience and a total rush to see my hard work and the hard work of so many around the U.S. pay off! Not to mention the pictures I was able to acquire are worth a million words. I’m looking forward to change…xoxo
    “J-kay”

Leave a Reply

