NASCAR and me

I picked Casey up from daycare about an hour earlier than usual so we could eat an early dinner and go to a NASCAR film in 3-d showing at the local planetarium.  Suffice it to say that I never thought anything dealing with NASCAR would be an event that I would attend.  I spent 3 hours of my life that I will never get back learning about the history of NASCAR, viewing an actual car, even being able to change the tires in a “pit stop” if I so desired.  I didn’t.  After the demonstrations, a bunch of (white) guys got up for a “short presentation” on each of their roles at the local raceway.  The 3-d film was supposed to start at 7:30.  But each guy had to show the guy who went previously how much longer he could talk and how much more knowledgeable he was than the guy before.   This went on until after 8 PM.  Before the movie even started Casey had consumed his juice, eaten a sucker, and played with his coveted beads.  He had devoured or bored of everything we brought to contain him – before the show began.  At 8:05 I asked Kim if we should leave right then because it was a school night, but Riley was taking it in.  Actually listening and paying attention.  He even wanted to ask a few questions, but didn’t because, “that guy doesn’t just answer your questions, he talks A LOT.”  Even Riley figured that out.  The film started at 8:15. 

It was IMAX.  NASCAR.  3-D.  Riley was having a blast.  And even Casey settled in to watch it.  Oohhing and Aahhing at the speed and the crashes.  I have to be honest, I even enjoyed it.  Especially talking to the fans who had camped out in their RVs for several nights before race day.  They have something I lack and it was fun to speculate what it is.  Devotion?  Crazy?  Bad hair cut?  Team Spirit?  Passion?  Crazy?  I just don’t know.

After the film as we were walking out of the theater, I asked Riley, “So do you want to be a racecar driver when you grow up?”  And he replied, “Absolutely NOT!.  But you know what Mama, I might consider building the cars for the racecar drivers.”

I had never been so proud.

6 Responses to “NASCAR and me”

  1. dad Says:

    Some people call it a “sport.” Some people actually refer to the drivers as “athletes.”

  2. kim Says:

    I was bored silly and we were there a total of 3 hours. Don’t the cars go round and round for longer than that?

  3. Carrie Says:

    One of my good friends is a total NASCAR fanatic….I love her anyway.

  4. the other sister Says:

    The two brain cells they have must get pretty dizzy.

  5. the other sister Says:

    he’s making a left turn
    -Rachel-

  6. Kelly Says:

    my brother and his mom are OBSESSED with NASCAR… personally, it makes me want to poke someone in the eye, then use them as a speed bump.

    perhaps riley and malachi can start a build-a-car workshop and together they can turn NASCAR into mini-monster garage…

Leave a Reply

