The dealio according to the machine

So I feel like a Big-FAT-Failure where keeping on top of life is concerned.  I’ve wanted to write.  I’m back at work full-time and I tell ya what.  It isn’t a 40 hour a week commitment even when it is.  There’s having to get dressed.  I’m expected to smell decent.  Or at least NOT smell.  I have to run a comb through my hair.  Then….there’s the commute.  I’m a machine that operates from 7 AM – 6 PM and just when I want to hit the off switch there’s dinner to make, homework to help with, bathtime, bedtime. 

I go to bed and do it all again.

And don’t get me wrong.  I like my job.  I like the people I work with.  I like what I do.  I like learning new things.  And while I want to keep some privacy where work is concerned, it feels like there’s nothing else to write about since I’m working what seems like all day everyday.  We’ve got the machine down to a science except when one – just one – unexpected thing happens.  Recently it was Casey with ringworm and an ear infection.  I’m living proof that the domino theory is alive and well.  The dominoes fall one after another as I juggle scheduling the appointment with the doctor.  Showing up.  Being referred to the ENT.  His tube has fallen out yet again and we’re back on the path of another surgery if we can’t get the infection to clear out. So, he’s back on antibiotics.  Which means the antibiotic is upsetting his stomach and the result is a real challenge to the potty training.  Not to mention the sleeping.

As long as everything goes according to plan, the machine works well.   

I feel so scattered and behind.  Trudging into work 15 minutes late.  Today the machine was slowed down by the unexpected storm that blew in 6 hour early if you (like me) listen to channel 2 news.  The morning commute was supposed to be unaffected.  How can a few snowflakes throw my whole routine into a bumbling two-step between left-footed cowgals? 

So here’s the dealio.  I’m downsizing.

First, if you know me in real life and you choose to come to my house, there is no promise that the toilet seat will be clean.  Dishes might not even be done.  There will be clutter.  But I promise, no filth.

Second, if I’m multitasking, know that it is out of sheer desperation, not preference.

Third, I’ve dropped (or am in the process of dropping) several “things” I’ve been involved in.  I’m in a community diversity group which I adore.  Bye. Bye.  Riley has 2 weeks left of junior basketball then bah-bye.  I’m trying to find the dignity to actually let the local paper I write for know I’m bailing there too.  So far, I’ve just missed deadlines.  I’m all but stopping community involvement.  I still want to blog, but on a reduced schedule. And if we read each other’s blogs, no offense, I just can’t keep up. Here’s my commitment.  I’ll read you in spurts.  And to my Thursday night coffee-shop date, our cocoa nights keep me sane, but can we go every other week?

Thank you for continuing to check my blog.  My sister says she checks about 50 times a day, so I’m sure my blog stats are skewed, but they are a dose of self esteem when I get the time to check.  But here’s the dealio.  Check my blog twice a week and I will make sure that one of those times you won’t be dissapointed.  Check it more than that and no guarantees.

After all, I’m just a machine.

6 Responses to “The dealio according to the machine”

  1. the other Says:

    This is why I quit my job. I wish you were in a position that you could too. Keep your head up. This insane place your in right now can’t last forever. If it does you will actually go insane = sit, stare at the wall, drool, blow spit bubbles, and mumble. There for you won’t care anymore. So you have something to look forward to. Either the insanity will stop or it will start. Hang in there. If your stressed and you want to pull your hair out at least you’re still sane. Love Ya

  2. Sk Says:

    I’ll scratch (read) yours if you scratch (read) mine! Post when you can. Love reading the old blog you got here!

  3. Carrie Says:

    K..I’ll start checking twice a week instead of 6-8 times a day. Watch your stats start going down!

    Hang on, you’ll make it.

  4. Jamie Says:

    so sounds like you are pretty busy these days! well you are all looking good. i saw you on the news last night and Riley was great reading his letter! awesome just awesome!! i know its nothing to do with you blog, but just thought i would let ya know…..

  5. Kelly Says:

    are we living the smae life…i feel like i am nonstop lately too…

  6. Kelly Says:

    same… damn broken finger, i cant spell either.

Leave a Reply

