The Rally

A couple of weeks ago Equality Utah invited my 7 year old son to give a speech about his family at the Capitol as part of their Family Rally. Riley was excited to participate. His first response was, “How big will my stage be and how many people will be watching me?” He’s a ham. He’s an extrovert. But he is only 7. I wasn’t sure he could pull it off.

He started practicing his speech right away. I saw him in the walk-in closet the next day standing in front of the mirror hollering, “Freedom. Freedom! We live in America and we’re supposed to have freedom!” That night he told me and his Mama Kim that he was going to need our help typing his speech because he kept forgetting what he wanted to say. So after dinner, Kim and Riley went downstairs and Riley dictated his speech to Kim while she typed out his words. He practiced every night. He edited his words. He put the right emphasis on the right syllable and each night he wowed me in my living room.

We were running late the day of the rally. So by the time we walked into the rotunda at the Capitol, the rally had already started. There were a couple of hundred people there. Suddenly Riley looked terrified. We took our spot at the side of the room and that’s when Riley noticed them.

The camera crews.

He beamed. He whispered in my ear, “I wore this sweater because I knew the news was going to be here. Mom! I am going to be on the news. I know it.” His anticipation and excitement returned and the fear seemed to subside.

Equality Utah introduced Riley as “a man I have known since 2004. A man who has been a life-long activist.” Riley beamed and stumbled to the front because he insisted on carrying a music stand to hold his speech on. He seemed awkward as he fumbled with the microphone. And then he began.

Hi. My name is Riley.

I am 7 years old, and I have a little brother named Casey.

We have two moms. We are a family.

We take care of each other.

We hug each other.

We play together.

We do chores together.

We eat together.

And we love each other no matter what!

At school I am learning about freedom.

I am learning that in the United States we have freedom.

But sometimes I don’t feel like we do.

I think that freedom means we can have the family we have and people shouldn’t say mean things about us just because we have two moms or two dads.

I think that in families like mine, two moms or two dads should be free to take care of their children.

That would make those families feel more safe.

I am lucky because I was born in Massachusetts so both of my moms are my legal moms.

I am thankful that they can always protect and take care of me.

I wish that all of the children in families like mine could feel safe like I do.

This would help me believe in freedom more.

Thank you for coming tonight and please don’t stop working to change the adoption laws so there can be freedom in Utah and Liberty and Justice for ALL!

It was perfect. He was perfect. Pride dripped down my cheeks and I quickly wiped them away. And sure enough, his first speech was captured on several news channels. One channel even asked if they could get a comment from him. I wasn’t sure at first but Riley was bouncing with excitement. “I have to do it Mom.” He said. And we let him.

He couldn’t wait to get home and see himself on television. He called relatives to remind them to watch the news and he told each one. “Have you ever known anyone who has been on tv? Well now you do.” We let him stay up to see the 9 O’clock news and then tried to get him to sleep despite his excitement. We assured him we’d record the news at 10.

As we tucked him into bed he told me, “Tonight someone told me I should run for President. And you know what Mom, I’m thinking about it.” I gave him a squeeze and stepped aside for Kim to get her snuggles. “I’m changing the world.” He told her. “You sure are.” She replied.

As we stepped away from the bed to turn off the lights, Riley sat up. Suddenly he looked concerned, even scared. “Do you know what I am a little bit worried about?” He asked us.

“What?” Kim replied.

“I’m afraid that I might be assassinated.”

“You mean, if you became President?”

“No. I mean, what if someone saw me on the news and they weren’t a free thinker. A lot of people who tried to change the world were killed. Like Martin Luther King Junior. And John F. Kennedy.”

I had hoped he was expressing a regular age-appropriate fear. You know, like the fear of the boogie-man. Only the boogie-man to him was embodied in hateful homophobia. But as we talked, I came to understand that he really just got it. He gets the impact of oppression, even more than I realized at first. So while we assured him that most people would be respectful to him and wouldn’t hurt him. We talked about how most people who don’t support his family are still good people. Then we told him we’d do everything we could to keep him safe. And we reviewed safety rules just to assuage his anxiety.

But really what do you say to a 7-year old who asks you that? Especially after you run out of things to say, and he says, “I wonder if you could ask Martin Luther King Junior if all he did was worth dying for, what would he say?”

I told him it was a good question, one to be pondered while he slept. As we shut off the light, he said just one more thing. “I think he would say it was worth it.”

Check out the news coverage at:

http://www.ksl.com/?nid=148&sid=5573888

or here

12 Responses to “The Rally”

  1. tonya cinnamon Says:

    what a awesome young man you have ^______^
    many congrats to him on his speech!

  2. breathingmoss Says:

    Incredible. Truly incredible. Thank you.

  3. Doug Says:

    that was a great speech & your best blog to date he only did one thing wrong he did not call ALL of his kin. sad to say i mist it you. got it on tape right ? ps i hope he is over his fear it not right for a 7 year old to be scared

  4. Carrie Says:

    It was a wonderful speech. I’m waiting for my autograph!

  5. Sheri, Stephen & Jason Says:

    Rock On Riley!!! You are terrific!
    We love you and your whole wonderful family!

  6. K Says:

    His speech was fantastic. Bub was in tears, and I was choked up too.

    How very sad I am that he “gets it.” I remember being seven, and I can’t imagine realizing something so big and scary and unsettling. He was so brave to give his (excellent) speech, and continues to be very brave as he faces the world and the hate that can exist in it.

  7. K Says:

    Me again

    I just read this post aloud to Bub (as she sniffles and groans with the start of a cold) who is lying next to me in bed. I actually got all choked up and couldn’t read for just a few seconds.

    Sweet little boy……

  8. Tori Says:

    He was so amazing!

  9. Kim Says:

    Wow, what an amazing little boy you have. The footage of him was so spectacular. At 7 years old to be able to have the strength to stand in front of all of those people and do and say what he did is just extraordinary. Kudos to both of you for raising such an amazing little boy!

  10. J-Kay Says:

    The blog was delightfully overwhelming…I’m waiting for my eyes to dry so I can clearly see the news coverage.

  11. Will Says:

    This is by far one of the best speaches I’ve ever heard. Not just for a seven year-old either. What an incredible child. Love you all.

  12. TNBP: On Being a Crier, Part 2 « Remembering to Breathe Says:

    […] characterizing it that way, but I’ve reluctantly come to accept she is right. I cried when I read about this brave child, and contemplate the fears of a 7-year-old about his […]

Leave a Reply

