Parenting: The Joy. The Tears. The Tears. The Tears

As a parent I am constantly trying to tune in on my sons’ feelings and fears.  I figure that if I can get ahead of their sugar level, I can offer a snack moments before the impending meltdown, and life will be simpler.  Happier. But after months of noticing and yes, even writing notes on the subject, I have come up with the following incomplete “key” to reading my children.

Casey

If he’s chewing on his Lammy, he’s tired.

If he throws his Lammy, he’s mad.

If he’s hungry, he gets in the fridge and grabs cheese.

If I can understand him, it’s because Kim or Riley is there to translate.

If he’s pulling on his clothes, he needs to pee.

If he’s touching his penis, he’s Casey.  (If he’s consciously touching his penis, he’s awake.  If he’s unconsciously touching his penis, he’s asleep.)

Simple enough, Right?  Wrong.

Riley

If he’s crying, he’s tired.

Or he might be hungry.

Or he might be sad.

Or he might be happy.

Or he might need to pee.

If he’s bouncing, he’s tired.

Or he might be hungry.

Or he might be sad.

Or he might be happy.

Or he might need to pee.

I have not been able to find any correlation between his feelings and his behavior.  I’m not sure what happens to children sometime between when their 3 and 7, but Riley is a complete enigma to me.  Casey is predictable – if a bit – naughty, but Riley…

The other day, I tucked Riley into bed.  He told me he wanted his ears pierced.  I told him he had to save up his own money.  He started crying.  I told him not to worry that we’d work it out and that he could do extra chores and earn a little money.  He informed me that he wasn’t crying because of that, but he was crying because he was worried that getting his ears pierced would hurt.  (sniffle sniffle.)

Yesterday while we were in the car, Riley told me he wanted his ears pierced.  I told him I remembered that from our conversation the other night.  He started crying.  I asked him what was wrong.  He told me that he was sad that people would make fun of him for having pierced ears unless he found some that had a skull on it and if he found earrings that had a skull on it, I probably wouldn’t let him wear it.

Tonight Riley was getting ready for bed.  He told me he wanted his ears pierced.  (This again?)  I told him we would discuss it in the morning.  He started crying.  I asked him what was wrong.  He told me that he’s asked for his ears pierced forever now, and I NEVER LET HIM HAVE THEM PIERCED.

I told him it feels like getting a thousand flu shots.  HE WAILED.

Hell, the kids going to cry anyway, I decided to make it worth it.

4 Responses to “Parenting: The Joy. The Tears. The Tears. The Tears”

  1. Kelly Says:

    hahahhahahahahaha… pure evil. i love you.

  2. Carrie Says:

    So when I see him this weekend, I probably shouldn’t ask him when he’s piercing his ears???

  3. J-Kay Says:

    1 word – WOW!

  4. Parenting: More Joy and More Tears « Qweird Utah Says:

    […] More Joy and More Tears By qweirdutah Remember this post? Where Riley cried every time he thought about piercing his ears.  Yet clearly he kept thinking […]

Leave a Reply

