Belated Birthday Bliss

36 isn’t one of those birthday years that most people get excited about. But this one for me was special. I’m trying to save vacation days at work for when Kim gets job interviews and/or for law school visits, so I ended up working. The day went by quickly. My coworkers sang to me and got me a card. I took Trax home and Kim and the boys picked me up at the train station with flowers. When we got home friends were there to watch the boys so that Kim and I could go to dinner. I’m in the midst of trying to lose ten pounds and didn’t want to ruin it with eating out, but Kim took me to the only raw food restaurant in town. AMAZING! The ambiance and the people there made it even more special. The meal was so tasty – I didn’t even miss refined sugars! And I wasn’t deprived at all. I had a chocolate mousse for dessert and while it wasn’t as sweet as the mousse you might get in a non-raw food restaurant, I much preferred this dessert. The chocolate was denser and more flavorful and the agave sweetened it perfectly. We then went across the street to the dollar theatres and decided we’d see whatever was starting next.

A scary violent hack ‘em up movie was starting next, so we saw Couple’s Retreat instead (it was the next to next to start.) We were the only people in the theater when we walked in so I told Kim that we should make out like teenagers. Less than ten blissful seconds later, the door opened and a large family walked in. The mood to make out was instantly quashed. I was feeling all gushy and in love with Kim and the day had been so wonderful that I even let her order and eat popcorn WITH BUTTER in front of me and I didn’t even have a pity party. The movie was actually pretty funny but the best part was how Kim would keep slipping her and into mine and squeeze. We got home to a surprise craft “a bedazzled bag” made all sparkly by the boys and some homemade a (diet-friendly) peanut butter treat.

Did I mention I got law school acceptances and birthday cards in the mail? Did I mention the $54,000 scholarship I got to a tier 1? Did I mention my boys didn’t even get in one argument/fight/disagreement the whole day. Did I mention the day was perfect?  Did I happen to mention that a storm blew in and knocked the nasty right out of the air and I can breathe again?  Did I happen to mention?

6 Responses to “Belated Birthday Bliss”

  1. Raine Says:

    Happy belated Birthday. It does sound like you had the perfect day. What beats a date with the one you love and your kids making a gift for you? Congratulations on the scholarship to the Tier 1 school.

  2. Carrie Says:

    Wait, wait…Kim kept slipping her ????? into yours and squeeze? You either need to edit that sentence or rate this blog as R.
    p.s. do you know what a six pack of Pepsi and a PG-13 movie is?
    answer: a wild night in Utah!

  3. qweirdutah Says:

    @Carrie – Kim says to say that it is a Mad Libs and you have to fill in your own body party. It was her hand but apparently I didn’t think that was important enough to mention….

  4. kelly Says:

    love.

  5. The other sister Says:

    I’m glad you had a great day. I’m all caught up on your blogs. Keep chugging away on your diet, I will too. Love you

  6. Mikey Says:

    Apparently I just read what I want because I filled in the mad lib with _ _ _ _, since I know how excited you get . 🙂 Glad you had a great birthday and congrats on the acceptance and massive scholarship!

    So where am I visiting this summer?

Leave a Reply

